P.O. Box 16451, Hattiesburg, MS 39404-6451 or 629 North Main Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
601-582-3361
info@aboutmrpa.org
About MRPA

The Mississippi Recreation and Park Association (MRPA) is a statewide, non-profit service organization. Our members are dedicated to advancing parks, recreation, and environmental efforts that advance the quality of life for every Mississippians. Our members work closely with state and local recreation professionals, park agencies, associated corporations with the industry and citizens groups to publicize and support state and local recreation opportunities.

To give parks and recreation professionals the tools to better serve the public, our three districts offer special educational opportunities including field and turf management and playground safety workshops. MRPA hosts an annual conference in the fall each year. Certified professionals can earn continuing education credit at all of these events.

MRPA members receive weekly Newsbites that keep them informed about events, activities and trends that affect the profession. Join our statewide efforts to promote healthy Mississippians, sustainable resources and community cohesiveness.

The Mississippi Recreation and Park Association recognizes the National Recreation and Park Association’s Certified Park and Recreation Professional (CPRP) certification. The program is designed for the beginning to mid-level professional. Attaining the CPRP designation shows that you have met education and experience qualifications, and illustrates your commitment to the profession as well as your knowledge and understanding of key concepts within parks and recreation. For more information or to apply for certification email certification@nrpa.org.  

logo-cprp.jpg
Our Team Members
  • Darcie Crew
    Darcie Crew
    President

    Pascagoula Parks and Recreation P.O. Box 908 Pascagoula, MS 39567 darcies@cityofpascagoula.com 228-938-2356

  • Bubba Robinson
    Bubba Robinson
    Secretary/Treasurer

    Oxford Park Commission 310 S 15th Street Oxford, MS 38655 bubba@oxfordparkcommission.com 662-232-2390

  • Alex Wilcox
    Alex Wilcox
    President-Elect

    Tupelo Parks and Recreation Sports Director P.O. Box 3608 Tupelo, MS 38803 alex.wilcox@tupeloms.gov (662) 841-644

  • Chandra Fontenot
    Chandra Fontenot
    Immediate Past President

    Clinton Parks and Recreation P.O. Box 156 Clinton, MS 39080 cfontenot@clintonparksandrec.com
    601-924-6082

  • Sheila Runnels
    Sheila Runnels
    Member at Large

    Tupelo Parks and Recreation P.O. Box 3608 Tupelo, MS 38033 sheila.runnels@tupeloms.gov

  • Antoinette Johnson
    Antoinette Johnson
    District III Representative

    Pascagoula Parks and Recreation P.O. Box 908
    Pascagoula, MS 39568 ajohnson@cityofpascagoula.com
    228-938-6617

  • Courtney Jones
    Courtney Jones
    MTRA Representative

    Methodist Rehab Center 1350 E. Woodrow Wilson Avenue Jackson, MS 39648 601-573-3888 cmjones1013@aol.com

  • Cole Smith
    Cole Smith
    District II Chair

    Cole Smith Director of Parks and Recreation City of Richland Tel: 601-487-9991 csmith@richlandms.com

  • Aaliyah Granger
    Aaliyah Granger
    Student Representative

    Aaliyah Granger Aaliyah.granger@usm.edu iyahg87@gmail.com 601-934-7269

  • Mike Young
    Mike Young
    District I Representative

    City of Oxford 310 S 15th Street Oxford, MS 38655 mikeyoung@oxfordparkcommission.com 662-232-2391